I totally screwed up this weekend.

12 11 2012

My husband and I went to Dallas to visit family for the weekend… and Friday was a hectic day and a half for me.  I was struggling to complete a work deadline (it had to be electronically filed with the court) by midnight so not too hard to manage, but I wanted to also get some other things done before we left town.  I ended up needing some mentor review from a supervisor at the office, so I figured I’d just e-file from Dallas when we arrived.  We planned on getting there around 9pm so no big deal.

Then, our favorite burger place halfway to Dallas ended up taking forever to make my dinner, so we were an hour late getting to Dallas.  And, I knew I needed to do my first estrogen priming shot that night too. 

The hustle and bustle of arriving, setting up my computer, reading my boss’s edits and making the corrections and getting the document e-filed by midnight made it seem that a silly little estrogen shot was a wham-bam-needs-no-thought maneuver.  This was my first mistake!

Also, I do IM (intramuscular) shots a little differently.  I do them in my arm, in the thickest part of the deltoid muscle, and with a 27 gauge needle (pretty skinny for an oil-based shot.)  So I get the needle in, then make my poor husband do the hard work of pushing the plunger down.

This time, poor baby, I totally screwed the pooch and loaded up TWO cc’s of estrogen instead of the POINT TWO cc’s I was supposed to take.  That’s right folks– 2, not .2.  TEN TIMES the amount of estrogen.

He sweated and huffed and puffed and finally got it all in me (and trust me, it wasn’t the most comfortable shot ever.)  And I e-filed my pleading around 11:45pm, and went to bed, and woke up at 4am FREAKING OUT because I had just realized my estrogen overdose.

Thank goodness Dr. Braverman tells me it’s okay, just “a lot of stuff you didn’t need to take.”  I don’t think I have enough estrogen in the vial for the remaining doses, but otherwise, no lasting harm done, that I know of.

Of course all that extra estrogen will make my endometriosis grow, and will make my liver tumor swell… but I just hope it doesn’t hurt my eggs.  I feel like SUCH A SCHMUCK.

I’m still on ganirelix every morning, and .2cc’s estrogen every 3rd night… and I start Gonal F on Friday.

How are you?

I have one butternut squash in the pantry, and never cooked one before.  My husband likes soup and we finally have a little chilly weather, lows of 40s and highs of mid 60s, so I think I will make this for him tomorrow night, adjusting the quantity for my lonely one squash of course:

Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

4 Tablespoons butter
3 large shallots
2 cloves garlic
1 Tablespoon curry powder
2 1/2 -3 pounds butternut squash 
4 cups chicken or vegetable stock
Fresh herbs (optional)

  1. Mince shallots and garlic and set aside.
  2. Wash and peel squash; cut into ¾-inch cubes.
  3. Melt butter in large saucepan over medium heat.
  4. Add shallots and garlic; cook for several minutes.
  5. Add curry powder; stir well.
  6. Add squash and cover the pan.
  7. Cook squash over medium-low heat for 20 minutes.
  8. Add stock, cover and simmer until squash is very tender.
  9. Puree small batches of squash and liquid in a blender or food processor until smooth.
  10. Garnish with fresh herbs.
Actions

Information

4 responses

12 11 2012
hopefulandhungry

Glad to hear that the “overdose” doesn’t cause any harm. Sorry you had such a hectic day. Deep breaths. 🙂

12 11 2012
Theresa

If it makes you feel any better – when I had to give myself my trigger shot for the IVF I had to re-do it, because the first time I injected myself WITH AIR.

12 11 2012
wishfulbabybump

Ohhhh boy it could have been worse and been gonal. Glad ur ok but hope the Endie doesnt get worse.

12 11 2012
Georgette

Gosh I know! Thank you 🙂 You’re all so supportive, I really appreciate it!!! (I too have injected myself with air. Or with diluent/saline that I forgot to dissolve the powder into. I’m a moron! Maybe not smart enough to be trusted with a baby, haha…)

Leave a Reply

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Jiu-Jitsu Vortex

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: More Gravitational Pull than a Black Hole

Everyday Mom Style

Fashion and Style Advice for Everyday Moms

WishfulBabybump

My IF Journey to MOTHERHOOD!

ReproRenegade

one woman's quest to repossess her fertility

Conceivable Solutions

Reproductive Immunology and Infertility Consultant

Bring on the Babies...

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

conceptionchronicles

Read my journey through infertility over the last 8 years...

2 Lovebirds + 1 More, Please?

All About IVF with PGS and Reproductive Immunology

My Preconceived Life

trying to add another person to the planet

The Joy Of an Embryo-Sitter

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

Hyperbole and a Half

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

Two Good Eggs

Two cracked eggs find the sunnyside (and funny side) of trying to conceive

INFERTILIT-HE

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Scrambled Eggs

using science to make a baby

Journey To the Finish Line

PR's, toddlers, hopes and dreams; I'm always running after something

The Knocked-Up Hopeful

Trials In Getting Knocked-Up

Kit and Kabooble

A travelogue through the world of breast cancer

Baby Steps to Balance

Finding a healthy balance on the road to baby

Idiotic Infertility

My Diminished Ovaries and Me

These Rotten Eggs

An Infertility Journey

Immotileturtle's Blog

Just another infertile rocking in a fertile world

Why Can't We Do This The Easy Way?

Our journey through the boggy waters of surrogacy

Thought Provoking Moments

He & Me Plus 3: Life With Triplets Un-wrapped

ladyblogalot.com

Okay, so, it’s not like I think everything I say and do is so damn awesome that everyone should know about it. In a blog. It’s just that as if being blind, and a vegetarian, with anxiety/OCD, and having the ability to accidentally break almost anything, and not liking chocolate, would be enough. But no. I also have to have IVF. Could I be any more minority? So it’s like god is playing one big joke on me… and I am not going down without a fight. In fact, God, I’m going to tell your mum on you. Well I would if my knowledge of religion was good enough for me to figure out who your mum is. Eve? Is it Eve? Well, Eve, this is what your son has been up to, and God, I just got you grounded pretty much forever. In your face, God. Ha.

The Quest to be a Mom

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

