Liebster award!

5 11 2012

Thank you, Juno, at WantaBabyBelly for nominating me for a Leibster Blog Award! This award is granted to up-and-coming bloggers with fewer than 200 followers who deserve some recognition and support to keep on blogging. Like my nominator, this is my first blog nomination. I hope everyone gets to know me a little better from this.

The instructions are:

1) to answers the 11 questions written by your nominator. 2) to nominate 11 other bloggers who have less than 200 followers. 3) to write 11 of your own questions for each nominee to answer.

Okay, here are my questions from Juno:

1. If you could meet any person (real or fiction) who would it be and what question would you ask them?  OK, I know this will sound dumb… but I would love to meet Sarah Palin.  Sadly, I couldn’t limit it to one question.  You may not know this, but I write another blog which is mainly about my Brazilian jiu jitsu training but also covers political perspectives, current events, cooking and so on.  And, during the last Presidential election, I was RABIDLY attacking Sarah at every possible turn.  (Not that she made it difficult to do so.)  So, if you’re some kind of conservative who actually LIKED her, you can just delete my blog from your blogroll now, if it’s going to bother you that I can’t STAND her.  And I’m just confrontational enough to think that spending an hour or two talking with her might actually be fun (at the same time that it frustrated me, I’m sure.)

2. How did you meet your spouse/partner? Was it love at first sight?  We met at a nightclub where my husband was teaching a beginner’s salsa dancing class.  It was love at first sight, but not with him– I fell in love with salsa dancing.  I had such a good time that I kept coming back, and starting taking semiprivate lessons from him with a friend in the class as my partner.  As we became friends, he offered to let me barter homecooked meals for lessons (the way to a man’s heart is truly through his stomach!)  I was very happy to develop our relationship as friends first.

3.  What is the meaning behind your blog name?  Most of my life I’ve operated on the philosophy that I can make anything happen I want, if I work hard enough, try hard enough, read enough, learn enough, etc.  But this infertility thing has really made me confront the reality that I Can’t Control Everything After All.

4. Do people in real life know about your blog? Why or why not?  Some do, but not many.  I don’t advertise it much and most of my friends/family aren’t really motivated to keep up with the details of the IVF stuff.  I think they prefer general updates occasionally, nothing too “medical.”  LOL!  So I write this blog because I want to get the word about reproductive immunology out there and help women pool our knowledge and resources….

5. What is your geatest fear in life? Failing to add love to every day.  I want to know when I’m dead that I made peoples’ lives better… not in any grand way like by curing cancer, but even just in small ways– just making little things easier, supporting a friend, encouraging someone to push onwards…

6. Who has been the most positive role model in your life to date and why?  My parents.  My mom for being adventurous, independent, and negotiating societal mores without compromising her own values; my dad for being generous, faithful, and unconditionally loving to me.

7. What about your infertility journey is most difficult for you?  Wanting to bash resistant doctors’ heads in with new ideas that they refuse to consider; wanting to open womens’ minds to the concept that their “unexplained” infertility might be explainable and finding it so hard to reach large numbers of women.  The actual infertility itself hasn’t been so bad for me, which sometimes makes me feel a little guilty.  I don’t have crying jags, the shots don’t upset me hormonally or emotionally, and I guess my life philosophy (knowledge is power) has helped me immensely.  As long as I feel like I’m moving forwards and have a plan, I’m content. 

8. What is your most favorite comfort food? Potstickers (pan fried Chinese dumplings with pork and vegetables, in a sauce with soy, white vinegar, garlic, green onion and hot peppers.)

9. What possession do you love and would be heartbroken to part with? All my family photographs.  As both my parents and all my grandparents have passed away, and I was an only child, I am pretty much the sole repository of photos… so if there was a fire, I’d be saving those boxes and albums first.

10. What do you do to help your spouse through the struggle of infertility?  He doesn’t really struggle with it.  His attitude is, well I’m not a parent by now, so I would be okay with staying childless.  But he is willing to try because he knows it means so much to me.  So, to help him, I try to make this process as painless as possible for him.  I don’t hide anything from him, but I try to keep the “infertility thing” as small a part of our life as I can and keep everything else on an even keel.

11. If you were a billionare how would you choose to spend your time?  Honestly, I love my work (appellate prosecutor for the Texas Attorney General’s Office) so much, I don’t think I’d quit.  I would probably have to hire some really solid financial advisers and lawyers, set up a foundation to do lots of charity work, and I’d for SURE set up some political donations to the Democrats.  I’d let my husband quit his engineering job and go to nursing school, and hire a nanny who spoke a foreign language when we have children, so they could learn from a young age… I’d probably buy a horse too, and go riding on the weekends… but otherwise, I think I’d spend my time about the same way I spend it now! 🙂

Ok, now time to list my 11 questions and nominate 11 blogs.

Questions:

1.  Tell us the craziest or funniest thing that happened on your wedding day (if you’re married; if not, pick an appropriate anecdote about some other very important moment.)

2.  What do you do for a living?

3.  Best method of losing weight when you need to drop 10 lbs?  (hey! might as well get some useful tips here!)

4.  Why did you decide to start blogging about infertility?

5.  Have any other blogs you write?

6.  You’re going out for a casual date night with another couple– describe your outfit, head to toe.

7.  Favorite online shopping websites?

8.  At home, how do you divide up chores?

9.  Coffee or tea? milk, sugar, lemon?

10.  When you need retail therapy, what do you buy typically?

11.  You’re late and basically throwing on clothes as you run out the door– name three makeup essentials that get you from barefaced to presentable, all applied at stoplights of course.

Now, here are my nominees! Again if you have already been nominated I apologize and if you don’t want to participate no hard feelings:

Sara at http://reprorenegade.com

Two Lovebirds + 1 More Please

My Preconceived Life

Two Good Eggs (probably a repeat!)

Hopeful and Hungry

Ginger and Lime

Idiotic Infertility

These Rotten Eggs

Spite or Flight

Why Can’t We Do This The Easy Way?

Thought Provoking Moments

Now, I just need to find how to efficiently inform all these lovely people I’ve Liebstered them! 

 

In the meantime, have a lovely Monday morning….

Actions

Information

7 responses

5 11 2012
ThoughtProvokingMoments

Thanks for the nomination Georgette…. 😉 You rock, I hope you know. I love your idea of a Sarah Palin interview. I’d so be there… 🙂 Furthermore, I’m with you…As long as I have a plan, I’m okay. I keep moving. I guess that’s the control freak in me….

Bree

12 11 2012
kateetaylor

Now that you’ve mentioned your job, I totally picture you as the blonde woman from Walker Texas Ranger. And so if I’d nominated you for the award, which I would have if I’d known of it, one of my questions would totally be have you ever met Chuck Norris? Everyone loves Chuck Norris. Anyway. I digress. Congrats on the nomination. I think you’re pretty awesome.

15 11 2012
Georgette

Why thank you 🙂 🙂 I’ve never met Chuck Norris– but when I was about 10, I was friends with a little boy named Charlie Norris, who loved karate and loved Chuck Norris movies. So that’s my closest pretension to a connection! 🙂

You’re awesome right back 🙂

15 11 2012
kateetaylor

that made me snort my coffee… it totally counts!

14 11 2012
spiteorflight
15 11 2012
Georgette

Gosh thank goodness you saw this, I totally fell apart on letting people know. I’m such a schmuck.

🙂

19 02 2014
shewithrotteneggs

So, it’s about a year and 3 months later and I found myself here! I suppose it’s a little late to play now, but thank you for finding and recognizing my blog! theserotteneggs.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

ourlastembryo's Blog

Endometriosis & Infertility. The road to overcoming invisible illnesses

The Jiu-Jitsu Vortex

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: More Gravitational Pull than a Black Hole

Everyday Mom Style

Fashion and Style Advice for Everyday Moms

WishfulBabybump

My IF Journey to MOTHERHOOD!

ReproRenegade

one woman's quest to repossess her fertility

Conceivable Solutions

Reproductive Immunology and Infertility Consultant

Bring on the Babies...

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

conceptionchronicles

Read my journey through infertility over the last 8 years...

2 Lovebirds + 1 More, Please?

All About IVF with PGS and Reproductive Immunology

My Preconceived Life

trying to add another person to the planet

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

Hyperbole and a Half

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

Two Good Eggs

Two cracked eggs find the sunnyside (and funny side) of trying to conceive

INFERTILIT-HE

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

hopefulandhungry

The road to conceiving a baby....enjoying food and life along the way

Scrambled Eggs

using science to make a baby

Journey To the Finish Line

PR's, toddlers, hopes and dreams; I'm always running after something

The Knocked-Up Hopeful

Trials In Getting Knocked-Up

Kit and Kabooble

A travelogue through the world of breast cancer

Baby Steps to Balance

Finding a healthy balance on the road to baby

Idiotic Infertility

My Diminished Ovaries and Me

These Rotten Eggs

An Infertility Journey

Immotileturtle's Blog

Just another infertile rocking in a fertile world

Why Can't We Do This The Easy Way?

Our journey through the boggy waters of surrogacy

Thought Provoking Moments

He & Me Plus 3: Life With Triplets Un-wrapped

ladyblogalot.com

Okay, so, it’s not like I think everything I say and do is so damn awesome that everyone should know about it. In a blog. It’s just that as if being blind, and a vegetarian, with anxiety/OCD, and having the ability to accidentally break almost anything, and not liking chocolate, would be enough. But no. I also have to have IVF. Could I be any more minority? So it’s like god is playing one big joke on me… and I am not going down without a fight. In fact, God, I’m going to tell your mum on you. Well I would if my knowledge of religion was good enough for me to figure out who your mum is. Eve? Is it Eve? Well, Eve, this is what your son has been up to, and God, I just got you grounded pretty much forever. In your face, God. Ha.

The Quest to be a Mom

Adventures in Infertility and Reproductive Immunology

